First round

I’ve noticed on Facebook and in the blogs that some people in Illinois and Michigan have been starting their seeds indoors recently. I have to wait a bit longer and plant mine on April 2nd. I’ll be visiting Portland, OR for the week prior and not able to tend to the babies back home in Chicago.

In the meantime, I’m enjoying ordering supplies and planning. I used the site Growing Taste to help me pick my veggie crops this year. Along with the 10 EarthBoxes that are on their way, here are the seeds I’ve picked up so far:

Heirloom/Open-pollenated seeds from Seed Savers Exchange:

  • Pea, Dwarf Gray Sugar
  • Watermelon, Blacktail Mountain
  • Cucumber, Poona Kheera
  • Tomato, Kellogg’s Breakfast
  • Tomato, Opalka
  • Tomato, Stupice
  • Thai Basil

From Renee’s Garden:

  • Mesclun Salad Mix, Asian Baby Leaf

These 3 packets are from an Asian market that I picked up to experiment with. No expiration dates, so I’m not holding my breath:

  • Eggplant, Chinese long, purple
  • Pai-Tsai, Chinese cabbage or “choy”
  • Rau Den, Amaranth

Since I’m container gardening and have limited space I decided to grow crops that are either difficult to find or more expensive to buy in stores. Flavorful/colorful tomatoes, for instance, are impossible to find in stores and potentially pricey at farmers’ markets. On the other hand, organic juicing carrots can easily be purchased in bulk at stores and don’t seem very practical to grow in containers. Although, the nutrition level of any store bought produce is debatable. Next on my list are more herbs and native perennials.

Leave a Reply

