A gardening incident in 10 parts. Plus, the 7 stages of (seed) recovery.

Part 1. Chicago got a lot of rain over the past few days

Part 2. My indoor crate full of gardening supplies was temporarily placed outside on Thursday to make room for patio furniture being hauled up to the roof.

Part 3. Saturday is a nice day to garden so I go up to the roof and find my indoor crate still outdoors.

Part 4. Stage 1. Discovery: I opened up the crate to find my box full of 2010 and 2011 seed packets. Oh yeah, that’s where I put those!

Part 5. Stage 2. Revelation: Said seed packets were floating in rain water. Or, as a smarter gardener would have it, pre-soaking for germination.

Part 6. Stage 3. Contemplation: Spent Saturday getting creative. How to accommodate more babies than my nursery could possibly have room for.

Part 7. Stage 4. Acceptance: Can’t possibly plant them all- we will be eating sprouts and baby greens with every meal for the next 2 months.

Part 8. Stage 5. Preparation: Amassed every unused container I could find including cookie sheets and baking dishes.

Part 9. Stage 6. Action: Sprouting plantable seeds in paper towel for transplant once I get more containers. Combined peas and beans and squash for salad sprouts. Planted trays for baby green and herb mix.

Part 10. Stage 7. Change: Lesson learned. Pledge to develop a better seed saving procedure for this fall. Pledge to not leave stuff out in the rain.

My rooftop project is now no longer just a rooftop project. It is now also a living room project and a sprouting project. It’s Sunday and I just finished prepping all EarthBoxes for rooftop planting- may have to risk planting earlier than May 15 and so far the forecast is looking good. Stay tuned…

6 responses to “A gardening incident in 10 parts. Plus, the 7 stages of (seed) recovery.

  1. Ahhhh! Boy, you sure are resourceful! Good quick thinking! And good growing
    to you 🙂 I will keep my fingers crossed for you!

  2. That’s hilarious, in a tragic sort of way. I’ve often left seed packs outside when planting only to find the seed germinating in them later. If you need a way to store see seeds check out my blog. Two posts back I posted about a seed bin I made out of a plastic shoe box to keep the seeds in. So far it has helped me stay organized and keep the seeds nice and dry.

  3. Pingback: The Aftermath | A Wicker Rooftop

  4. Pingback: Unconventional planters and trays | A Wicker Rooftop

Leave a Reply

