Reader Profile: Small Space Indoor Gardening in Chicagoland

This week Kim Slavenski of Naperville, IL kindly shared  photos of his indoor garden. Kim recently moved into a third floor apartment where he undertook the experiment of trying vermiculture and indoor container gardening. Vermiculture, if you’re unfamiliar, is the art and science of keeping earthworms in a container to make use of their excellent waste recycling and compost benefits.

Kim explained, “I purchased a couple pounds of worms last year. Now I feed the worms cardboard and my garbage. I feed their castings to my tabletop garden.”

Kim must have a good system going, just look at the results of his experiment:

If you have any questions or comments for Kim, please feel welcome to leave them below or email me and I’ll be sure they reach her. wickerrooftop@gmail.com

3 responses to “Reader Profile: Small Space Indoor Gardening in Chicagoland

  1. “Reader Profile: Small Space Indoor Gardening in Chicagoland | Wicker Rooftop Chicago”
    truly makes me imagine a small bit further. I really cherished each and every single piece of this post.
    Thanks for your effort -Monserrate

  2. Where are the worms?! Great set up! I’m currently working on my first container garden. Unfortunately, I do not have any extra room inside so I have planted on the rooftop. Let’s hope for the best. I will keep up with your blog in the future. Keep up the good work!

    • You’re right, Susan- a photo of those worms would be great! Kim, if you’re reading, you have a worm request 🙂 I haven’t tried vermaculture yet because I’m concerned about the extreme temps on the rooftop. Could get mighty smelly! I do have great success with my tumbling composter, however.

Leave a Reply

